UNESCO-Japan 2023 Prize on Education for Sustainable Development for Master

UNESCO-Japan 2023 Prize on Education for Sustainable Development for Master
  •  Master
  •  21-Apr-2023
  •   Worldwide
  • $$  Varies

The UNESCO-Japan Prize on  Education for sustainable development, funded by the Government of Japan, consists of three annual awards of USD 50,000 for each recipient. It was awarded for the first time by the Director-General of UNESCO in November 2015.

The Prize and award winners recognize the role of education in connecting the social, economic, cultural and environmental dimensions of sustainable development. It was established by the Executive Board of UNESCO at its 195th session within the framework of the Global Action Programme (GAP) on ESD and officially announced at the UNESCO World Conference on ESD (10-12 November 2014, Aichi-Nagoya, Japan).

Following the Executive Board's  decision 207 EX/10.III.B in November 2019, the Prize was renewed. In the renewed cycle, the Prize will be managed for a period of six years (2020-2025) and will be awarded once per biennium (i.e. 2021, 2023 and 2025). 

Eligibility Criteria

The three Prize winners are selected by the Director-General of UNESCO on the basis of recommendations made by an  international independent jury consisting of five experts.

The project/programme of the nominee are assessed by the Jury on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Transformation

The project/programme practices Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) as transformative education in support of sustainable development, , leading to individual and social change.

Offered Benefits

  • The Prize shall be entitled “UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development”.
  • The Prize shall be funded by the Government of Japan and shall consist of a total minimum payment of US $690,000 for its next six-year period (2020-2025), which shall cover both the monetary value of the Prize and the costs of administering the Prize for three biennial editions, excluding staff cost.
  • Additional operating/management costs of the Prize, including all costs related to the award ceremony, public information activities and overhead charges, estimated at a minimum of US $80,000 per biennial edition, shall be fully covered by the Government of Japan.
  • The Prize shall be awarded once every two years, starting from its 2021 edition. The Prize shall consist of three awards of US $50,000 for each of the three recipients, each of which is considered to merit a Prize.

Application Process

Nominations can be submitted to the Director-General of UNESCO by Governments of Member States via their  Permanent Delegation to UNESCO, and by Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)  in official partnership with UNESCO. Each Permanent Delegation or NGO can make up to three nominations for any edition of the Prize. Self-nominations are not accepted.

How to submit nominations?

1. Complete the online nomination form

The nomination form must be completed online in English or French via a dedicated platform (for nominating entities only - the fields of the nomination form are described in the explanatory note). (for nominating entities only - the fields of the nomination form are described in the  explanatory note).

  • Nominations must be completed online by the  Permanent Delegation to UNESCO of the concerned Member State, or by an  NGO in official partnership with UNESCO.
  • It is possible for  National Commissions to UNESCO to access and complete the online form. However, any nomination by a National Commission will need to be submitted by the Permanent Delegation to UNESCO of the respective Member State. An automatic notification message will be sent to the official e-mail address of the Delegation to this end.
  • If a National Commission or Permanent Delegation to UNESCO wishes that the form be completed electronically by the nominees, UNESCO can provide the nominees an access to the platform. A request should be sent to  . After completion of the online form by the nominee, the concerned National Commission and Permanent Delegation will receive a notification e-mail and can review the nomination before the Permanent Delegation submits to UNESCO.
  • Attention should be paid to presenting the project/programme of the nominee in a clear and structured way, following the instructions given in the form.
  • All supporting material (e.g. publications, photos, videos) must be transmitted electronically through the online system.
  • While completing the form, please also keep in mind that the project/programme will be assessed by the Jury on the basis of the selection criteria.

2. Submit the online nomination form

  • Nominations have to be submitted in the online system by the concerned Permanent Delegations to UNESCO or the NGO by midnight of 21 April 2023 (UTC+1, Paris time).
  • Kindly note that each Permanent Delegation or NGO may not submit more than three nominations.
Apply Here
If you think this scholarship can be helpful to somebody else, please share:

Subscribe for Scholarship Updates

Get a weekly email that thousands of students use to get the latest scholarships and grants.

** Scholarships.plus will not share your details without your permission.

Like our website? Follow us on Facebook

More Suggestions: