UNESCO International Literacy Prizes For Excellence and Innovative Concept

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes For Excellence and Innovative Concept
  •  Course, Diploma, Bachelor, Fellowship
  •  27-Jun-2021
  •   Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania, South America
  • $$  US$20.000 – US$30.000

Through these prestigious Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.

Applicants will be asked to make submissions related to the 2021 theme “Inclusive distance and digital literacy learning” and take into consideration the specific focuses of the two prizes when applying:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards)

Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to mother language-based literacy development. 


Each of the three UNESCO King Sejong prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.

  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards)

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China. It gives special consideration functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school Youth.

Each of the three UNESCO Confucius prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$30.000.

Eligibility Criteria

Who is eligible to apply?

  • Institutions, organizations and individuals promoting literacy through effective and innovative projects or programmes.
  • Eligible programmes or projects who have a proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years.
  • Programmes/projects that have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years.

Application Process

How to submit the applications and nominations – two stages

The first stage is for an applicant to fill in and submit an application form through either a National Commission for UNESCO or an International Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) maintaining official relations with UNESCO.

The second stage is for the concerned National Commission or international NGO to review and nominate the successful candidatures to the Secretariat of the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes. 

Selection Process

All the eligible nominated applications submitted to UNESCO will be examined by an International Jury, composed of distinguished experts appointed by UNESCO’s Director-General, which meets in Paris once a year.

Based on its recommendations, the Director-General of UNESCO makes a final decision about the Prizewinners of 2021.

The Prizes are awarded every year at an official ceremony on the International Literacy Day, 8 September (TBC).


UNESCO International Literacy Prizes Secretariat
Section of Youth, Literacy and Skills Development
Division for Policies and Lifelong Learning Systems
Education Sector
7 place Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP

E-mail: [email protected](link sends e-mail)
Tel:  +33 1 45 68 08 59 or +33 1 45 68 11 40
Fax: +33 1 45 68 56 27

Apply Here
If you think this scholarship can be helpful to somebody else, please share:

Subscribe for Scholarship Updates

Get a weekly email that thousands of students use to get the latest scholarships and grants.

** Scholarships.plus will not share your details without your permission.

Like our website? Follow us on Facebook

More Suggestions: