One World Media Awards for Journalists in developing countries for Course

  •  Course
  •  10-Feb-2022
  •   Worldwide
  • $$  Varies

Established in 1988, the One World Media Awards recognise the best media coverage of the global south. Stories that break through stereotypes, change the narrative and connect people across cultures.

  • Across 15 categories, the Awards celebrate work from all media platforms and across a wide range of genres and themes
  • The Awards are open to journalists and filmmakers from anywhere in the world
  • The focus is on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to the global south

Digital Media Award, Environmental Impact Award, Feature Documentary Award, International Journalist of the Year Award, News Award, New Voice Award, Podcast & Radio Award, Popular Features Award, Print Award, Refugee Reporting Award, Short Film Award, Special Award, Student Award, Television Documentary Award, Women’s Solutions Reporting Award 

All entries should focus on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to low- and middle-income countries across the global south. This includes countries across Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Middle East, Russia or the Post-Soviet States. Jurors will be looking for media that covers underreported stories or new angles and approaches to more familiar stories.

Eligibility Criteria

With the exception of the Special Award, all categories are open to entrants anywhere in the world, as long as the work meets one of the following criteria:

  • The entry has been broadcast, screened or published (in print or in an established online publication/website) in the UK; OR
  • The entry has been broadcast or published (in an established print/online publication/website) internationally and is available for an English-speaking audience; OR
  • The entry has been screened at an international film festival

Offered Benefits

  • A unique opportunity to be recognised by some of the industry’s top professionals and to gain a wider audience for your work
  • The only Awards recognising excellence in international journalism and filmmaking specifically from and about the global south
  • They are established, with 32 years of providing a platform for important stories to be shared and celebrated

Application Process

Go to . One World Media on to apply
Apply Here
If you think this scholarship can be helpful to somebody else, please share:

Subscribe for Scholarship Updates

Get a weekly email that thousands of students use to get the latest scholarships and grants.

** will not share your details without your permission.

Like our website? Follow us on Facebook

More Suggestions: