Commonwealth Secretary-General’s 2023 Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards For Innovators for Course

  •  Course
  •  15-Oct-2023
  •   Worldwide
  • $$  Varies

The Commonwealth Secretary-General’s Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards aim to recognise and celebrate the contribution that innovators in the public, private and not-for-profit sectors are making to advancing sustainable development in Commonwealth countries in any of the areas defined in the  17 Sustainable Development Goals.

What are the key objectives of the Awards?

  • Identify, highlight and support the innovations that show demonstrable potential for enhancing sustainability in Commonwealth countries in line with the Sustainable Development Goals;
  • Help create an environment that will encourage and sustain investments in innovations led by governments, businesses, women, young people and social enterprises across the Commonwealth;
  • Illustrate the depth and breadth of talent, commitment and creativity that exists across the Commonwealth by highlighting the innovative potential of the award winners;
  • Inspire, encourage and challenge others to develop innovations that will be of value and service at the community, national, regional or international levels in achieving the SDGs.

Eligibility Criteria

Who can be a nominee?

  • Nominees can be individuals, organisations, companies, charities or government ministries / departments / agencies;
  • Nominees must be directly engaged in developing their innovations, either in a full-time, part-time or voluntary capacity;
  • Nominees must be Commonwealth citizens, governments or public sector organisations in Commonwealth countries, private enterprises based in Commonwealth countries or civil society / not-for-profit organisations based in Commonwealth countries;
  • Nominated innovations must be able to demonstrate impact or potential in achieving progress on one or more of the 17 SDGs in a Commonwealth country (or countries);
  • Award winners must agree to take part in Commonwealth-supported activities and initiatives related to the Commonwealth Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards.

Offered Benefits

Three awards will be given in each of the following five categories:

  • Improve the well-being of Commonwealth PEOPLE
  • Improve PROSPERITY in the Commonwealth
  • Protect the PLANET and the natural environment in the Commonwealth
  • Promote PEACE and justice in the Commonwealth
  • Promote PARTNERSHIPS for development in the Commonwealth

There will be three award winners in each of the five categories, adding up to a total of 15 winners. In each of the five categories, one winner will be selected from the public sector (national/regional/local government), one winner from will be from civil society / not-for-profit sector and one winner will be an entrepreneur or a private sector company.

The award winners will be selected on the basis of an objective set of criteria by an independent jury composed of eminent people from different walks of life.

Each award winner will receive a trophy, a certificate and prize money of £3,000.

Application Process

Go to CommonWealth on to apply
Apply Here
If you think this scholarship can be helpful to somebody else, please share:

Subscribe for Scholarship Updates

Get a weekly email that thousands of students use to get the latest scholarships and grants.

** will not share your details without your permission.

Like our website? Follow us on Facebook

More Suggestions: